The Revchem-backed NHRA team Kalitta Motorsports will be heading to the east coast this weekend, as they gear up for one of the most interesting races of the season: The Pep Boys All-Star Callout. Members of the Revchem staff will also be present, continuing their marketing and technical support sponsorship with Team Kalitta. See the press release below from Kalitta Motorsports for more details on the upcoming event at Gainesville Raceway.

YPSILANTI, MI (March 9, 2022) — Eight of the best Top Fuel racers in the world, including both Kalitta Motorsports drivers Doug Kalitta and Shawn Langdon, will be competing for $130,000 in bonus prize money this weekend in the Pep Boys All-Star Callout event during the NHRA Gatornationals. Two weeks ago, at the Arizona Nationals, the final event to earn Pep Boys Allstar Callout points, Kalitta moved into the No. 7 Allstar position with a No. 1 effort in Phoenix and Langdon slid into the No. 8 Allstar position with his No. 7 qualifying effort at the national event. Friday afternoon in a unique ‘callout” format No. 1 Pep Boys All-Star qualifier Steve Torrence will choose his first round opponent from the seven competitors in the field regardless of qualifying position. Following Torrence the No. 2 qualifier Brittany Force will select from the remaining six drivers unless she is selected by Torrence.

“The callouts will make this a fun event for sure, and you won’t know who you are racing against until the picks are made,” said Langdon, who will be racing the CMR Construction & Roofing Top Fuel dragster this weekend. “I feel good about my position because there is no pressure. As the No. 8 driver I will either get picked or be in the last pair. I am just looking forward to putting on a good show for the fans. There will definitely be some strategy involved for sure.”

Langdon won the 2013 Traxxas Shootout Top Fuel event defeating Steve Torrence in the final. He has appeared in four Top Fuel specialty events in his career with a 5-3 career record. He is 1-0 in final rounds.

In the history of Top Fuel specialty races Doug Kalitta has one of the most successful winning records. He has qualified for nine Budweiser Shootouts and won three of those specialty races which is tied for second on most on the win list. Kalitta has advanced to five final rounds, also tied for second on most final round list. He is one of only three drivers to have won a specialty race final round on a hole shot, over Tony Schumacher in 2003. He also won his first appearance in a specialty race in 1998.

“I love the specialty races going back to the Budweiser Shootout and the Traxxas Shootout,” said Kalitta, driver of the Mac Tools Top Fuel dragster. “There are seven other really tough drivers in this thing and you will have to be ready if you want to get those three win lights. I am glad Shawn and I made it and we will see what we can do on Saturday.”

The first Top Fuel specialty race was the Cragar/Weld Wheel Top Fuel Classic in 1985. Over the years Top Fuel competitors have had the chance to win bonus cash as part of the Budweiser Top Fuel Classic, the Budweiser Shootout, the Technicoat Shootout and most recently the NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout from 2012 – 2017.

Full schedule for the Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout (ET):

Friday, March 11:
5:00 p.m. Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout first-round selections.

Saturday, March 12

11:30 a.m. Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout opening ceremony
11:45 a.m. First round for Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout

12:00 p.m. Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout for round two. The winning driver who makes the quickest run in the first round earns the right to select their semifinal opponent.
3:15 p.m. Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout final round

The FOX broadcast network will have complete coverage of the Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout beginning at 2 p.m. ET on Saturday, March 12, which will also include live action of the final round.

Pep Boys NHRA Top Fuel All-Star Callout Final Standings
1. Steve Torrence
2. Brittany Force
3. Mike Salinas
4. Justin Ashley
5. Antron Brown
6. Leah Pruett
7. Doug Kalitta
8. Shawn Langdon